<medium.com/pragmatic…>

I’ll admit that I bought a membership to Medium solely out of annoyance. I ran into too many articles on software development lodged behind the paywall. (In particular, discussions of open source projects.) I considered the annual fee a nuisance cost.

With this content, Medium made that cost deliver much more value than the price. The Programmatic Programmer influenced much of my journeyman thinking in software development, and many other books in the press’s line helped my career over the years.

In particular, the book Behind Closed Doors by Johanna Rothman and Esther Derby is still a resource I would hand to any young engineer facing their first management job.

I’m not certain I would consume a lot of technical publications this way, but I applaud the PragProg publishers for trying this experiment.